Florida Martial Arts
The Commission is also responsible for the approval of amateur boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts sanctioning organizations.
Important Information / Hot Topics
On August 25, 2016, Amateur Rules 61K1-4.009, 61K1-4.028, 61K1-4.029 and 61K1-4.030 Florida Administrative Code, became effective. Please note the following:
- Amateur participants shall be suspended from competing for a period of 60-days if (s)he loses by way of knockout and 30-days if (s)he loses by way of technical knockout. When the amateur athlete is suspended for KO or TKO, the authorized representative of the amateur sanctioning organization or the physician performing the post-fight physical shall complete the “Suspension of Amateur Athlete” form, which can be found on the Commission’s homepage. The amateur participant shall be provided with a copy of the form.
- Amateur sanctioning organizations are required to provide direct, on-site supervision for all amateur events.
- No amateur match shall begin between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m.
- An amateur sanctioning organization shall, within 72 hours after the event, file with the Commission a written report that includes the match results. The written report shall be recorded on the Commission form, which can be found on the Commission’s homepage. The form can be emailed or faxed to the Commission office.
The Florida State Boxing Commission would like to congratulate Assistant Executive Director Frank Gentile and Judge Don Balas for receiving Boxing Achievement Awards from the Florida Boxing Hall of Fame. In addition, Judge Ric Bays will be inducted as member of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016. The three will be honored during the Hall of Fame’s annual conference June 24-27 in Tampa. The conference also includes amateur boxing matches, an officials’ seminar and presentations from leaders in the boxing industry. More information can be found by visiting The Florida Boxing Hall of Fame.
On September 10, 2015, Rule 61K1-4.008, Florida Administrative Code, became effective. Please note the following about the new rule for Amateur Mixed Martial Arts:
- Physicians are required to certify in writing the amateur’s physical condition and a professional assessment as to whether the amateur may engage in a match.
- Amateurs must provide the ASOs with an eye exam, negative Hepatitis B & C test and negative HIV test. The test results are good for one year. Please note that there is a typo in the rule that says two years. The Attorney General’s office is working on correcting the typo.
- Female participants must provide negative pregnancy tests.
- Over 40 fighters must submit additional tests results: a normal EKG, a normal MRI a physical exam from stating that the fighter is physically fit to compete.
On August 5, 2015, Rule 61K1-3.0165, Florida Administrative Code, became effective. This is the Commission’s new weigh-in rule.
Please be aware that under the new rule, a participant is allowed one hour to meet the weight requirement if he or she fails to make weight. In the past, a participant was allowed two hours.
As required by Rule Chapter 61K1-4, Florida Administrative Code, advance notice for all amateur boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts events shall be filed by the amateur sanctioning organization at least ten (10) days before each match. Please click here for instructions regarding the online submission of advance notices for amateur events.
On March 14, 2013, Rule Chapter 61K1-4, Rules for Amateur Rules for Boxing, Kickboxing, and Mixed Martial Arts became effective. Click here for more details.
Please be aware that effective December 27, 2012, Rule 61K1-1.001, Florida Administrative Code, was repealed. Veteran's association sponsored events are no longer exempt from Chapter 548, Florida Statutes. Professional events must be sanctioned by the Florida State Boxing Commission. Amateur events must be sanctioned by a licensed Amateur Sanctioning Organization.